St Fagans CC est 1862

St Fagans crowned Champions at Miskin Manor

St Fagans 1st XI were crowned Premier League Division Two Champions on Saturday after a huge 22 point win over Miskin Manor.

1st XI skipper, Chris Thorne, lost the toss but St Fagans were surprisingly put into bat by the opposition on a sweltering day and on what looked like an excellent wicket. The match was also played in intriguing circumstances with 2nd place Tata Steel (3pts behind the Stags) also in action against Miskin’s relegation rivals Ynystawe (9pts behind Miskin).

The first impressions of the wicket fortunately played true for the the Stags with the 1st XI amassing a huge 278-5 with important contributions once again from Matt Thompson (86), Gareth Rees (78) and Andrew Leering (65*). The three batsmen have been hugely impressive throughout the season for the Stags with Rees finishing 2nd highest run scorer in the SWPL2 with 737 runs at 56 – and Leering just behind with 569 at 56 too.

In reply, Miskin got off to a brisk start, however, the introduction of seamer, Gareth Weatherall, quickly changed the course of the game. Weatherall’s inswing quickly removed both Miskin openers putting the Stags in pole position. The impetus never returned for Miskin and they were bowled out for 140 off 42 overs with 17-year-old Charles Griffith picking up a match-winning haul of 5 wickets.

Stags collected a maximum of 22 points to secure the title – the 2nd in four seasons for the 1st XI and with Saturday’s side containing 8 players who have come through the club’s junior ranks.

In the match at Port Talbot, Ynystawe emerged victors and St Fagans’ comprehensive victory prevented Miskin from collecting sufficient points to stay up. Our congratulations to Ynys for staying up, to Tata for an excellent season and running us so close and sincere commiserations to Miskin Manor who will undoubtedly bounce back.

All eyes will now turn to the Premier League proper in 2018 as the Stags looked to retain PL status for the first-time since the establishment of the top league in 2010.

Customized Social Media Icons from Acurax Digital Marketing Agency